Research

I’ve not been sleeping very well lately and feel tired all the time so I’ve not really felt like doing much work.  So I don’t get behind I thought I would make a start on Part 4: Contextual Studies which involves researching a list of 10 artists/ designers that is provided then make a list of 6 artists/designers of your own from the beginning of the 20th century to the present day.

  • artists using textiles as their medium
  • craftspeople using any textile related technique
  • fashion designers using textiles in an innovative way

So far I’ve chosen the fashion designers Alexander McQueen and Ossie Clark from the 60’s.  I am counting Phyllis Barron and Dorothy Larcher as 1 as they worked together making hand blocked printed textiles using natural dyes in the 1920’s and 30’s.

I’m trying to get a variety but it is hard to choose only 6.

Leave a Reply

