A Grand Day Out

I had an enjoyable day out last Friday at Creative Stitches and Hobbycraft not far from where I live at Aintree Racecourse.  There was a lot of papercrafts, beads etc not enough Textiles for my taste but a few more than there have been in past years.

There was an interesting talk by ‘Wendy Dolan‘ and I bought a set of small tubs of screen printing inks from her.  They’ll do for a start but I’ll have to get larger tubs at some point.

Got some Lutrador from ‘Wendy Cotterill‘.  I missed her quick workshop on Inkjet printing onto fabric and when I mentioned it to her on her stand she said I hadn’t missed much because she’d had problems with the spray glue she usually uses.  She gave a quick demo to a few of us.  I’ve tried it before with some success but she gave a few tips that will help.

I learnt something new as well – Drop spindle spinning with ‘Rachel Powell‘.  The workshops are only 15 minutes long but give you a chance to have a go.  I’ve got a bag of welsh mountain wool that I bought for felting so I’ve sent for a drop spindle along with small bags of Soya bean tops and Linen tops to have a go.

I’m going to try to get to get to The Knitting and Stitching show at Harrogate later this year.  I’d better get saving because from what I’ve read on different blogs it is more my sort of show.

One response to “A Grand Day Out

  1. I would like to get started in textile art, where do I start,I cannot find anything in the North West ,Runcorn,Widnes,Warrington,area.
    mostly patchwork or sewing would be willing to travel any suggestions please

Leave a Reply

